Government in Canada

Canada is a federal state that consist of 10 provinces (Ontario, Alberta, Quebec, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia) and three federal territories (Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon) which are under the administration of the federal government (Parliament of Canada).

In 1867 Canada was granted dominion status within the British Commonwealth. In 1931, the British government recognized the independence of Canada's domestic and foreign policy. The Queen of England is the head of Canada, represented in Canada by Governor General. Functions of the Governor General are largely formal.

There are 3 levels of government in the country: federal, provincial and municipal.

Federal government is represented by the Prime Minister of Canada - the elected head of the country. Canada has a multi-party system. The major political parties are the Liberal Party, the Conservative Party, Bloc Québécois, and the New Democratic Party. Each of ten provinces of Canada has a provincial government. The head of the government is the Premier. Municipal government. Each city of Canada has a government headed by a Mayor. An elected municipal representative is called a city councilor.


Home | Services | Contact | Government in Canada | Health Care in Canada | Language Training | Housing | Canada Embassies | Higher Education | Hiring | Transportaion | Weather | Why Canada | Immigrate | Study | Work | Visit | Start Businnes | Refugees | Arabic عربى | Canadian online directory
Get more information about the company in ICM Consulting and Media Corporation reviews Twitter Google+ BBB Facebook Dx3Canada!
Website marketing by Seologist SEO Company in Canada